The Journey, Part 9: Full Body MRI

young Frankenstein

Three days ago not only did I have to leave home at 5:30 am to be at the NYC hospital for a full body MRI scan, I had to endure almost 2 hours inside the scanner. I’d had an MRI a few years ago and I’m not claustrophobic, so  I wasn’t concerned but boy, oh boy, the guys at Memorial Sloan Kettering hospital do not mess around.

I had to place my arms straight by my side with my hands face down under my butt, then had plates strapped to my thighs, my pelvis and my chest. My head was put into a V-block and padded down so it wouldn’t move and then they placed another plate over my face with an opening from my eyebrows to my bottom lip. Then they sent me inside the torpedo tube for the next 70 mins! As I said, I’m not claustrophobic, but brother this was unnerving.

They let me out after 70 mins to walk around and take a break before sending me back inside for round 2. The second time was without the face mask as it was only the pelvic area being scanned. I was in a slightly different position and after about 15-20 mins I started to get a cramp in my back. I tried to push through it, but had to hit the “get me out” button. They pulled me out and said I was almost done, but because they had to stop I had to start part 2 all over again! They gave me water and a few mins to stretch it out, then back in for another 30 mins. I have to say this episode drained me far more than I imagined.

Today, Friday, December 18th, (the day before my birthday), I received the phone call with the scan results. They had forewarned me if it moved to the bones surgery is off, as I’ll have a bigger battle in front of me.

I received THE best birthday gift ever…not only has it NOT traveled to the bones, the lymph nodes are clear too!!!! Prostate still has to come out in January, but WOW! I am so relieved.

Thank you to everyone from around the world who have been cheering me on. Next week will be a VERY Merry Christmas!

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Journey, Part 9: Full Body MRI

  1. PRAISE THE LORD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY!! We never met but know we love you brother and I am part of the vast cheering section you may hear in the back of your head! SO SO HAPPY! Much love in Christ, Stephen Bennett and family

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment